Connect with us


Chelsea confirm squad for UCL knockout stages as Potter dismisses Aubameyang for three new January signings



(Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)

Three new signings have been selected for Chelsea’s Champions League knockout squad, with Graham Potter opting to deregister Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Chelsea‘s heavy transfer spent in January saw them acquire eight new players, seven of whom are at the club with Malo Gusto returning to Lyon on loan.

However, ahead of their Champions League last-16 clash against Borussia Dortmund on February 15, Potter needed to make a decision over his new squad with a maximum of three new signings being registered, however it meant if three were named one would have to be deregistered to adhere to the A list 25-man squad.

Chelsea signed David Datro Fofana, Benoit Badiashile, Andrey Santos, Joao Felix (loan), Mykhailo Mudryk, Noni Madueke and Enzo Fernandez last month, however only three have been selected due to the rules.

Potter has made the big call to include Mudryk and Fernandez for the remainder of the European campaign this season, with Badiashile missing out and Felix getting the nod.

That has meant one Chelsea player has been unregistered due to there being 23 players on the list originally after Jorginho’s departure (24th name originally). Potter has had to deliver the bad news to Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, who is the player who unfortunately has been taken out of the Champions League squad.

Prior to the squad announcement, Potter confirmed how he would deliberate his decisions, revealing: “They’re tough decisions, that’s for sure. Each player brings something but we had to make a decision on the overall make-up of the group, the overall make-up of the squad, and look at it in that way. There’s no other way to articulate it, to be honest.”

Confirmed Chelsea Champions League for rest of 2022/23 season

A List

Goalkeepers: Kepa Arrizabalaga, Edouard Mendy, Marcus Bettinelli

Defenders: Thiago Silva, Trevoh Chalobah, Ben Chilwell, Reece James, Kalidou Koulibaly, Cesar Azpilicueta, Marc Cucurella, Wesley Fofana

Midfielders: N’Golo Kante, Mateo Kovacic, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Denis Zakaria, Conor Gallagher, Carney Chukwuemeka, Mason Mount, Enzo Fernandez, Hakim Ziyech, Christian Pulisic, Raheem Sterling

Forwards: Kai Havertz, Mykhailo Mudryk, Joao Felix

B List

Players included: Lewis Hall, Charlie Webster, Armando Broja