Connect with us

Match Coverage

Middlesbrough vs Chelsea: Confirmed team news for Carabao Cup semi-final tie



(Photo by Matthew Lewis/Getty Images)

Chelsea take on Middlesbrough in the Carabao Cup semi-finals on Tuesday night and the confirmed team news is in from the Riverside Stadium.

Mauricio Pochettino‘s side are on the road for the first leg, before heading back to Stamford Bridge later this month for the reverse tie as they eye progression into next month’s final at Wembley.

The 51-year-old has warned his side to avoid complacency against the Championship outfit and make sure Chelsea deserve to reach Wembley to face either Liverpool or Fulham.

“Because it is Chelsea’s history or Chelsea in the last six months? We need to be very respectful and not underestimate any opponent,” insisted Pochettino pre-match. “Even if Middlesbrough are in another division, we need to take it like it’s the best team in the world.

“People can think Chelsea is Chelsea. No. We are in the middle of the table, not competing in the Champions League or Europa League. That is our reality.

(Photo by GLYN KIRK/AFP via Getty Images)

“People can think, ok it’s Chelsea, but that translates to the team and if we believe that we are Chelsea and we are going to win because of this badge, I think we are going to be really wrong.

“We need to be humble enough to realise that, go there and say we need to chase them, be aggressive, all together, match their desire. In that case maybe we will have the opportunity to win.”

The Carabao Cup tie will get underway at 8pm (UK time) and will be available to watch live on Sky Sports in the United Kingdom.

Here is the confirmed team news as Chelsea take on Middlesbrough on Teesside.


Starting XI: Glover; Van den Berg, Howson, Fry, Bangura; Engel, Barlaser; Jones, Crooks, Lath; Hackney.

Bench: Jones, Clarke, Gilbert, Coburn, O’Brien, Kavanagh, McCabe, Bridge, Bilongo.


Starting XI:Petrovic; Gusto, Disasi, Thiago Silva, Colwill; Enzo, Caicedo, Gallagher; Madueke, Palmer, Sterling.

Bench: Bettinelli, Bergstrom, Gilchrist, Williams, Golding, Mudryk, Washington, Broja.